Sunday, August 20, 2006 For immediate release:

47th Mobjack National Championship Lewes Yacht Club, Lewes, Delaware

Today, the final race was held for the 47th Mobjack Nationals at Lewes Yacht Club. Racing took place on the Delaware Bay, just inside Cape Henlopen near Breakwater Harbor. Mark Arnold, of Chesapeake, with crew Matt Frank of Suffolk strung together 6 first place finishes and one "Photo" Finish with Rowland Marshal and Connie Miller from Lewes Yacht Club. We had seven races and each racer was able to throw out there worst race. Mark and Matt did not even have to sail in the last race. This is a Mobjack National record, no winner has ever posted scores in a National event like this before. Rowland Marshall and Connie Miller overcame a capsize and still finished to edge out Len and Josh Guenther for second. This makes the 9th time Mark has earned the National Championship and fourth for them as a team. Mark and Matt scored 6 firsts followed by one second. The racers enjoyed great competition and expert regatta management by the Lewes Yacht Club. The seven races were sailed around modified gold cup courses, a 5 ½ leg race (triangle / windward / leeward / windward) with each leg approximately a mile or more in length. Twenty seven boats competed with skippers aged 15 to 84. Many family teams and some husband/wife teams competed. The morning races were sailed in great air followed by lunch /wind breaks and the afternoon races became nice romps as a seabreeze filled in.

<u>Lewes Yacht Club</u> once again excelled at their hospitality, providing homemade pastries and fresh fruit breakfasts, a refreshing pool with morning water-aerobics, hearty meals, and an excellent, well staffed and alert race committee.

A highlight of the regatta was the new clubhouse. Lewes Yacht Club rebuilt and added 2 bars and many places to hang out. Friday and Saturday two historical sailing vessels provided an interesting back drop to the racing and a visual diversion between races. One was Delaware's Tall Ship, the "Kalmar Nyckel", a replica of the Swedish three-masted armed pinnace (warship), that brought the first permanent European settlers to the Delaware Valley in 1638. The other was the "A.J. Meerwald", a genuine Delaware Bay oyster schooner built in 1928 with sleek sailing lines and a gleaming white hull. In addition, the sailors were escorted out to the race course Sunday by fifteen to twenty dolphins. Chesapeake Bay Yacht Racing Association provided support and sanctioned the regatta.

During the Business Meeting, Jerry Desvernine was re-elected President, Jeff Fultcher Vice President, Mark Arnold Treasurer, Tom Ward Secretary, Len Guenther Chief Measurer, Tracy Kubinec Member at Large, and Al Williamson Member at Large. A Commitment was made to build new boats and masts using Mobjack Sales, Inc.

45th Mobjack National Championship Lewes Yacht Club, Lewes Delaware August 16-18, 2006

REGATTA HIGHLIGHTS:

7 Races 27 boats

WINNING TEAM :Mark Arnold Chesapeake Vaand Matt Frank, Suffolk, Va

TOP 15

Place	Boat Name	Sail #	Points	Skipper and Crew - Hometown - Club/Fleet	Finishes
1st	Kikinbird	505	6	Mark Arnold with Matt Frank - Chesapeake, VA - BBSA	(2)-1-1-1-1
2nd	Yolo	456		Rowland Marshall and Connie Miller Lewes Yacht Club	1-3-3-2-4-(6)-3
3rd	Bumble Bee	504	16	Len and Josh Guenther Alexandria, VA - FBYC	3-2-(4)-3-2-4-2
4th	Mobjacket	451	24	Meg and Tom Roberts West Point VA. FBYC	4-2-5-5-3-5
5th		92	27	Jeff Futcher and Jon Lewes DE Lewes Yacht Club	5-5-(8)-4-3-2-8
6th	Vanilla	466	36	Sam Jackson and Sam Maddox - Baltimore, MD - GSA	6-7-5-(9)-6-5-7
7th	Lunatic Fringe II	537	43	Jerry Desvernine and John - Richmond, VA - FBYC	4-6-6-8-DNS- (DNC)-4
8th		295	48	A. Paynter Ingram and F Lewes DE Lewes Yacht Club	8-9-(10)-7-7-7-10
9th	Halfast	310	59	Rodney and Duval Evans Lewes DE, Lewes Yacht Club	7-8-7-13-DNF- (DNC)-6
10th	Long Haul	460	62	Al Williamson and Tim Moody Nashville TN	10-12-12-12-8-8- (DNF)
11th	Super Rodento	430	73	Tom and Duncan Ward - Washington, DC - PRSA	
12th	Poo!	494	74	Mark Roelofs and Betsy McCord and Kevin Roelofs	9-11-8-DNS-(DNC)- DNC-DNF
13th	Blue Sky	242	75	Chip Beverson and Steve Owens Lewes DE Lewes Yacht Club	13-13-(DNS)-14-8- DNS-DNC

14th		288	75	Steve Nieblas and Jeff S Lewes, DE - LYC	12-10-11-11-DNF- (DNF)-DNC
15th	Vintage	18	85	Hank Strother Mark Falls Church VA. PRSA	(DNC)-DNC-DNC- 6-DNF-DNC-DNC

Additional trophies and special awards:

The winner will be awarded the International Mobjack Championship Trophy.

Mark Arnold, Skipper Matt Frank, Crew

Prizes will also be awarded to 2nd through 5th positions See above:.

The **Stein Award** (**Senior National Champion**) - presented to the skipper with the best finish who is 63 years of age or older at the start of the National Championship Regatta. **Rowland Marshall, Lewes, DE**

The **Ulmer Award** - presented to the member participating in their first Nationals as a skipper who finishes highest in the regatta but does not receive a position award. **Paynter Ingram, Lewes, DE**

The **Stephanie Ann Ives Memorial Trophy (Youth Award)** - presented to that member skipper, not having reached their 21st birthday during the year the Nationals is held, who finishes highest in the regatta but does not receive a position award or the Ulmer Award for the regatta.

Meg Roberts from West Point, VA

The "Family Award" - presented to the qualifying skipper who finishes highest in the regatta but does not receive a position award, Ulmer Award or youth award. To qualify, the skipper must have at least one crew member from another generation of their family aboard.

Rowland Marshall, Skipper Constance Marshall Miller, Crew, Lewes, DE

The "**Top Woman Skipper Award**" - presented to the female skipper finishing highest in the National Championship Regatta.

Meg Roberts West Point, VA

The **Mobjack Systems Award** - presented to the husband-wife team regardless of which is skipper and crew who have the best finish among husband-wife teams.

Mark Roelofs and Betsy McCord, Washington DC

The "Long Haul Award" - presented to that member who trails their boat the longest distance in order to participate in the Nationals.

Al Williamson from Knoxville, Tenn

The "**Fleet Award**" - presented to the fleet (other than the host fleet) which has the largest number of boats participating in the Nationals. In the case of a tie, the fleet with the highest total standing in the regatta shall be given the award.

Fishing Bay Yacht Club

The "Anchor Award" - presented to the skipper who has the largest number of total points of all skippers completing every race. In the tradition of this award the winner is to maintain the trophy for the following year and add one piece of memorabilia or otherwise make improvements to enhance the trophy.

A. Paynter Ingram, Lewes, DE

The **Stephen McDonough Sr. Award** - presented to the skipper who has displayed the best sportsmanship during the regatta. This was determined by a vote of the participating sailors.

Rowland Marshall, Lewes. DE.

For more information: Tom Roberts President International Mobjack Association (804) 843-2682 mobjack451@cox.net

Posted 8/21/06, Updated 8/22/06